2014 Daytime Emmy’s: Winners at the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards


The 2014 Daytime Emmy’s were a first.  The event streamed online to a global audience.  There was no network or cable TV simulcast in the US.

The live streaming event was not without its hiccups, as the show started a black screen was streamed but the audio was present.  In the back ground we could hear Kathy Griffin’s intro but the main audio feed was one of the red carpet girls talking about her nipple falling out.

The red carpet hosts made full use of the new medium by using language and commentary that was sometimes shocking and/or inappropriate; perhaps not for a young audience, but for those of us who’ve been watching soaps for decades – well, we cringed – a lot.

For long term soap fans it was also disappointing for interviews on the red carpet to be less about the actors and their soap characters and story lines, and more about the hosts’17 layers of Spanx.  We now know far too much about the four chatty social media hosts’ underwear and streaming sweat.  But the fact that they seemed to have no idea who the stars of the medium were was the most telling.  They were there to further their career/dating  goals not highlight the achievements of the stars being honored on the night.

The solution for next year’s red carpet event was, however, presented among the gibberish spouted by the four social media beauties when they interviewed the writers/bloggers for the large soap opera blogs/sites.  Next year lets have the Dan Kroll’s and Errol Lewis’s of the soap opera world cover the red carpet.  I daresay we won’t hear about their underwear but will get some insight as to who is nominated and how many previous wins and near misses the nominees have had in the past.  That kind of coverage was sorely missed this year.

Once the actual Daytime Emmy’s started, however, things went relatively smoothly and fans got more of the type of coverage they were accustomed to, albeit a little lacking in the interesting statistics department and to my mind Kathy Griffin’s uncensored comments crossed the line from satire and humor into insulting a few times.

But enough opinion,  below is a list of winners for the soap opera genre!

Access Hollywood’s Billy Bush presented:

Supporting Actor in a Drama series

Bradford Anderson,  General Hospital’ (ABC)
Steve Burton,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Scott Clifton,  The Bold and the Beautiful  (CBS)
Eric Martsolf,  Days of Our Lives  (NBC) – WINNER!!!!
Dominic Zamprogna,  General Hospital  (ABC)
Eric Martsolf acknowledged his wife who taught him that the grass is greener where you water it.  He also noted that his kids were probably playing minecraft rather than watching the Daytime Emmy’s on their iPads.



Supporting Actress in a Drama Series

Melissa Claire Egan,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Jane Elliot,  General Hospital  (ABC)
Amelia Heinle,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS) – WINNER!!!!
Elizabeth Hendrickson,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Kelly Sullivan,  General Hospital  (ABC)


Outstanding Writing Team

The Emmy went to The Young and Restless and was presented by Y&R star Sharon Case

Outstanding Directing Team

The Emmy went to online soap One Life To Live and was presented by Scott Clifton, Kim Matula and Darin Brooks from The Bold and the Beautiful.


Younger Actress in a Drama Series

Kristen Alderson,  General Hospital  (ABC)
Lindsey Godfrey,  The Bold and the Beautiful  (CBS)
Hunter King,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS) – WINNER!!!!
Kim Matula,  The Bold and the Beautiful  (CBS)
Kelly Missal,  One Life to Live  (TOLN.com)






Younger Actor in a Drama Series

Bryan Craig,  General Hospital  (ABC)
Chad Duell,  General Hospital  (ABC)
Max Ehrich,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Chandler Massey,  Days of Our Lives  (NBC) – WINNER!!!!  Second win in a row!
Daniel Polo,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)

Chandler Massey joked about his reel.  He said nothing.  Deidre Hall was the only one to speak as she pronounced Will and Sonny husbands.  Chandler’s acting involved kissing his co star Freddie Smith!


Outstanding Special Class Emmy

Was awarded to the Jeanne Cooper Tribute – Jeanne Cooper portrayed Katherine (Kay) Chancellor on The Young and the Restless for 40 years until her death.  What comes from the heart, touches the heart.  The tribute involved putting Jeanne Cooper’s friends, family and co-stars into a set to talk about her.


Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Peter Bergman,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Doug Davidson,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Christian LeBlanc,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS)
Billy Miller,  The Young and the Restless  (CBS) – WINNER!!!!  This is Billy Miller’s third Emmy win
Jason Thompson,  General Hospital  (ABC)






Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Eileen Davidson,  Days of Our Lives  (NBC) – WINNER!!!!
Katherine Kelly Lang,  The Bold and the Beautiful  (CBS)
Heather Tom,  The Bold and the Beautiful  (CBS)
Arianne Zucker,  Days of Our Lives  (NBC)

Eileen Davidson thanked Heather Tom for sharing – this year!






New Approaches – Outstanding Drama series

Less than 35 episodes per season

DeVanity  (www.devanity.com)
Tainted Dreams  (YouTube.com)
The Power Inside  (YouTube.com)
Venice the Series  (www.venicetheseries.com) – WINNER!!! 

The award was presented by Donna Mills and was accepted by Crystal Chappell.


Outstanding Drama Series

The Bold and the Beautiful  (CBS)
Days of Our Lives  (NBC)
One Life to Live  (TOLN.com)
The Young and the Restless  (CBS) – WINNER!!!




Leave a Reply